Just another WordPress.com site

Patience

The dictionary defines the word patience as “the ability to endure waiting, delay, or provocation without becoming annoyed or upset; to persevere calmly when faced with difficulties”. I’ve even heard that patience is simply a minor form of despair disguised as a virtue.

I think patience is the quality most needed as an advocate and caregiver. I found that out early in this journey and most importantly now that I’m wrapping up the last details of my parents estate. Wow, such a big word – E-S-T-A-T-E. I suppose if my parents had a big house in the city instead of their pretty little lot with a single-wide mobile home, in a small retirement town of about 1,500 people, the word would make more sense. But there are things that need to be finalized, and every time I think I can see the end of this journey I find myself trying to rush through these things. That’s when I realize my impatience is moving this journey’s end further from my sight.

For months I’ve worked to sell my parents little place and have followed all the rules put in front of me. When I signed the sales contract as …Personal Representative to… I thought my journey would be smooth sailing to the finish line. Then someone decided to change the rules and brought the process to a halt. I found myself close to running out of patience and wanted to call them, remind them of the rules; most likely making it worse. Luckily patience led me to seek advice, and that advice was to write a letter and to send it through regular mail; and most importantly, wait for a response. Patiently I waited. Days passed – surely they’ve read it! Why haven’t they called? I can’t make it through another weekend without an answer!! Friday morning came along and I was determined to make that call. Then it hit me; my biggest weakness is my habit of moving too fast. So I decided to be patient and wait, as emotionally draining as that would be.

Saturday morning when the mail arrived there was the return receipt from the letter I mailed with a received stamp of Friday; it hadn’t even been reviewed. I sat for a moment in the silence and said a little thank you prayer for patience. As I sat quietly contemplating what could have happened I was reminded that I have other qualities on my side in this phase of my journey. Honesty –Truth – Common Sense. This will work out as long as I keep patience at the top of that list.

Maybe it’s just not time for my journey to end. Whatever journey you find yourself on my advice is to be patient, the best part might be just a day or two away.

Leave a comment